Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

REVEALED :List of 10 Coastal MPs who have Sign Deal to Ditch Raila’s ODM party

0 1,672

Politicians drawn from the coast region have threatened to quit the ODM party amid reports that the formation of a political party from the region with the 2022 game-plan in mind is underway.

Addressing the press at Parliament Buildings on Thursday, 10 MPs led by Aisha Jumwa and Kilifi North MP Owen Baya said it’s time to severe links with ODM.

They are Mohammed Ali (Nyali), Michael Kingi (Magarini), Aisha Jumwa (Malindi), Sharif Ali (Lamu East), Andrew Mwadime (Mwatate), Khatib Mwashetani (Lunga Lunga), Jones Mlolwa (Voi) Paul Katana (Kaloleni) and Benjamin Tayari (Kinango).

Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa 

Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa said the coast region will be ditching ODM as they ”had been abandoned by the party they once strengthened”.

“Nyege na nyege ni kunyegezana, tuliwanyegeza lakini sahizi hawataki kutunyegeza, in 2022 it’s not a secret that we are disconnecting from the party,” Jumwa said.

Her sentiments were echoed by MP Mohamed Ali who likened their souring relationship with ODM as an ‘extramarital affair’. On his part Kilifi North MP Owen Baya said the new political outfit will be ready before the next poll.

A number of ODM politicians have previously accused the party of sidelining them in parliamentary committee appointments. The party which is in the works, the politicians say, will use the 41 elective positions from the coastal region to strengthen their bargaining power.

Photo:Raila With Owen Baya

The latest comes in the backdrop of accusations that Senator James Orengo, Fred Outa, Moses Kajwang and Achillo had voted to deny the coast region resources. The legislators further claimed that the amendments to the revenue sharing formula had exposed who their ‘true friends’ were On Tuesday, the senate shot down the proposed revenue sharing formula that had been fronted by Murang’a Senator Irungu Kangata.

Kangata, the Majority Chief Whip was seeking to have the formula by the Finance and Budget Committee start in 2022 -2023 against the proposed 2021-2022 date.

The proposition in the formula is that no county should receive less than Ksh.350 million in budget allocation.

Read the Original Article on Scoope News

(Visited 917 times, 1 visits today)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More