President Uhuru To Chair Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party Council Meeting

President Uhuru Kenyatta is set to preside over the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Alliance Coalition Party’s first council meeting on Thursday.

Raila Odinga Presidential Campaign Secretariat Press Secretary Dennis Onsarigo, in a statement to newsrooms on Wednesday, said the meeting will be held at the KICC in Nairobi.

“The Azimio la Umoja Coalition Party flagbearer and ODM party leader Raila Odinga will attend the first Azimio Council meeting tomorrow Thursday 21st, April 2022,” said Onsarigo.

“The meeting brings onboard the council membership chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta, at KICC at 7:30 am.”

Among other expected leaders include; Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Narc-Kenya’s Martha Karua, Baringo Senator Gideon Moi, Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu and her Mombasa counterpart Hassan Joho.

Other coalition members are Taveta MP Naomi Shaban, Kanduyi legislator Wafula Wamunyinyi, Murang’a Woman Rep Sabina Chege, Abdi Noor Omar Farah and Suna East MP Junet Mohamed, who is the party’s National Coalition Executive Council Secretary-General.

The meeting comes a week after the coalition was officially registered as a political outfit on April 14, 2022.

Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu made the announcement in a gazette notice in which she enlisted all the 26 parties affiliated with the coalition.

They include; Jubilee, ODM, Wiper, KANU, NARC, NARC-KENYA, Muungano Party (MP), Maendeleo Chap Chap (MCCP), Democratic Action Party (DAP-K), Devolution Empowerment Party (DEP), United Party of Independent Alliance (UPIA) and the United Democratic Movement (UDM) and the United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

Pamoja African Alliance (PAA), Kenya Union Party (KUP), United Democratic Party (UDP), Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG), Kenya Reform Party (KRP), Chama cha Uzalendo (CCU), Party for Peace and Democracy (PPD), National Liberation Party (NLP), People’s Trust Party (PTP), Ubuntu People’s Forum (UPF), Party of National Unity (PNU), Labour Party of Kenya (LPK) and the Party for Growth and Prosperity (PGP), also make up the party.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *